Steinberg, Bass, Cogdill and Villines receive JFK Courage award

4:11 PM, May 25, 2010   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +

SACRAMENTO, Calif. (AP) -- Four California lawmakers who stood up to their parties during last year's state budget crisis have been awarded the annual John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award.

The award was presented Monday to two Democrats, Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg and former Assembly Speaker Karen Bass, and two Republicans, former Senate Minority Leader Dave Cogdill and former Assembly Minority Leader Mike Villines.

President Kennedy's family created the honor to recognize the work of elected public servants. Past recipients include President Gerald Ford and former U.N. Secretary General Kofi Annan.

Despite a series of tax increases and spending cuts, California's budget is back in the red, with a deficit of $19 billion.

The Associated Press

Most Watched Videos