SACRAMENTO, CA - Serena Salazar has six kids, three of whom ride in car seats.
However, a new California law could put her other children back in car seats.
"I'm going to have to get a bigger car, an SUV," Salazar said.
Starting New Year's Day, children 8 years old or those shorter than 4'9" will be required to be in a booster seat.
RELATED STORY: 8 new traffic laws go into effect New Year's Day
States like Maine, Maryland, New Jersey, Wyoming and Washington have similar laws.
"We want to make sure families understand that it's very important to maintain that child in a booster seat b/c of the seatbelt position," California Highway Patrol Officer Adrian Quintero said. "Center mass of the chest and crossing the hips and shoulders."
Marco Landeros said he was going to go home and measure his height.
"I don't want to sit in the car seat," Marco Landeros said.
"It is a little ridiculous," Marco's mother Ielda Landros said "I have a lot of little ones, so now to put an extra car seat for him will be too much. He probably would have to stay home because his car seat wouldn't fit in the car."
The seats aren't cheap. They often cost more than $100.
But violating the new law will cost parents much more; the fine is more than $400.
"If they receive more bodily harm in an accident," Salazar said. "Of course, I'd like to keep my child safe."