LIVE VIDEO: News10 at 6:00pm    Watch

Ubisoft talks and demonstrates Rocksmith 2014 Edition

5:49 PM, Jun 26, 2013   |    comments
  • Share
  • Print
  • - A A A +
Ubisoft's 'Rocksmith 2014' video game is designed to teach players guitar and bass.

Some might say that the music game genre is dead, but don't tell that to Ubisoft.  After all, they've been hard at work creating Rocksmith 2014 Edition, the first official sequel to its 2011 guitar game Rocksmith.

Unlike games like Guitar Hero and Rock Band, Rocksmith uses an actual electric guitar and is designed to teach the player how to play the instrument.  Roughly nine months after its release, Ubisoft added bass guitar to the game via an expansion.  This time around, both guitar and bass return, though Creative Director Paul Cross says the game is brand new from the ground up.

"With the sequel we were able to take all the feedback and understand everything the people wanted - an audience some people didn't think existed - but we've got 1½-million users and they're very happy," stated Cross.  "And so now we've gotta make sure we address all the feedback we receive."

Cross hinted that there's quite a bit new in Rocksmith 2014, but couldn't go into detail as to what those items would be.

"I'm not completely at liberty to talk about the way we've completely revamped the lessons to be faster, more intuitive, and more helpful," said Cross with a smile.  "I can't talk about that yet.  And I can't actually talk about the way we've completely redesigned learning a song so that it's going to be much more under your control and much more instant."

He also wasn't completely at liberty to say how Ubisoft has cut loading.

"'Cause one of the things that was bad in the first game was it took too long to load," he commented.  "So we've taken it out, essentially, thanks to the wizards back at the office."

One new item that Cross was at liberty to speak about was Rocksmith 2014's all new "session mode" which simulates a live free-form jam experience as if the user was in the same room as his bandmates.  In fact, the mode was demonstrated live behind closed doors at E3 and can be viewed in the video player above immediately following Cross' interview.

As far as the game's track list is concerned, Ubisoft has revealed six playable songs from as many bands:

  • Walk This Way - Aerosmith
  • Stone - Alice in Chains
  • Knockin' on Heaven's Door - Bob Dylan
  • Ultra Soul - B'z
  • Don't Look Back in Anger - Oasis
  • The Chimera - The Smashing Pumpkins

Rocksmith 2014 Edition is scheduled to release in October for PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and PC/Mac.


Most Watched Videos